Cyber Security Certification: GISP

Cyber Security Certification: GISP

The GIAC Information Security Professional (GISP) certification validates a practitioner's knowledge of the 8 domains of cybersecurity knowledge as determined by (ISC)2 that form a critical part of CISSP® exam. GISP certification holders will be able to demonstrate knowledge of asset security, communications and network security, identity and access management, security and risk management, security assessment and testing, security engineering, security operation, and software development security.

Areas Covered

Who is GISP for?



NOTE: All GIAC Certification exams are web-based and required to be proctored. There are two proctoring options: remote proctoring through ProctorU, and onsite proctoring through PearsonVUE. Click here for more information.

GIAC certification attempts will be activated in your GIAC account after your application has been approved and according to the terms of your purchase. Details on delivery will be provided along with your registration confirmation upon payment. You will receive an email notification when your certification attempt has been activated in your account. You will have 120 days from the date of activation to complete your certification attempt.

Exam Certification Objectives & Outcome Statements

The topic areas for each exam part follow:

Asset Security
The candidate will demonstrate an understanding of asset management and classification, including access controls, handling and retention requirements.
Communication and Network Security
The candidate will demonstrate an understanding of network security, including secure architecture, network protocols, security controls and devices, and common network attacks.
Identity and Access Management (IAM)
The candidate will demonstrate an understanding of identity management concepts and controls including AAA, passwords, tokens, biometrics, federation, and common threats.
Security and Risk Management
The candidate will demonstrate and understanding of security risk management and business continuity practices, including legal and regulatory compliance, security policies, and governance principles.
Security Architecture and Engineering
The candidate will demonstrate an understanding of secure engineering architecture and implementation for systems in networked, web based, and mobile environments and mitigating common vulnerabilities.
Security Assessment and Testing
The candidate will demonstrate the ability to design, perform, and analyze security tests
Security Operations
The candidate will be able to demonstrate an understanding of the managerial, administrative, operational aspects of information security.
Software Development Security
The candidate will be able to demonstrate an understanding of the key security principles related to secure application development.

*No Specific training is required for any GIAC certification. There are many sources of information available regarding the certification objectives' knowledge areas. Practical experience is an option; there are also numerous books on the market covering Computer Information Security. Another option is any relevant courses from training providers, including SANS.*

Other Resources